Skip to main content
The CJA Awards

CJA Awards 2019

The CJA Awards celebrate individuals and organisations who have contributed to a fairer and more effective criminal justice system. Our Media Awards spotlight journalists and digital media champions who have challenged perceptions and improved public understanding.

We announced the winners of the CJA Awards 2019 at a ceremony in London. The awards were presented by Dr. Baz Dreisinger, founder of the Incarceration Nations Network. 

Shortlist and winners

Outstanding Individual 

  • Barry Flanagan, Head of Rehabilitation Programmes, Recycling Lives’ HMP Academies — winner 
  • Sofia Buncy, National Coordinator, Muslim Women in Prison Project — runner-up 
  • Shelley, a volunteer restorative practitioner at Wales Restorative Approaches Partnership — runner-up 
  • Sabrina Parkins, Prison Officer, Unlocked Graduates 
  • Gethin Jones, Founder, Unlocking Potential 
  • Dr Shona Minson, University of Oxford 

Outstanding Organisation 

  • Circles UK — winner 
  • Peer Power — runner-up 
  • Browns Community Services CIC 
  • The Prisoner Policy Network at Prison Reform Trust 
  • Safer Living Foundation 

Outstanding Journalism 

  • Adele Robinson, Sky News — winner 
  • Anushka Asthana and the Today in Focus team, The Guardian  
  • Frankie McCamley, BBC 
  • Hazel Shearing, Buzzfeed 
  • Claudia-Liza Armah and Caroline Gauley, Channel 5 

Outstanding Digital Media Champion 

  • Kate Littler and Nina McNamara, Bird Podcast 
  • Jon Robins, The Justice Gap 
  • Brenda Birungi 
  • Lady Edwina Grosvenor, the Justice podcast 
  • Simon Shepherd, The Good Book of Prisons 

Lifetime Achievement Award

The winner of this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award were Barry and Margaret Mizen, who set up a charity to engage young people in memory of their son Jimmy.

You can read more about the shortlisted individuals and organisations in our CJA Awards 2019 brochure 


The judges of the CJA Awards 2020 were: 

  • Iqbal Wahhab. Chair of EQUAL.
  • Marie-Claire O’Brien. Director of the New Leaf Initiative CIC 
  • Dame Vera Baird. Victims’ Commissioner 
  • Babafemi Dada. Governor at HMP Featherstone. 

The judges of the Media Awards 2020 were: 

  • Raphael Rowe. Investigative reporter at Panorama, Netflix and The One Show.
  • Penelope Gibbs. Director of Transform Justice and author of ‘Reframing Justice’. 
  • Danny Shaw. BBC Home Affairs Correspondent.
  • Jodie Jackson. Author of ‘You are what you read’.