Skip to main content
The CJA Awards

CJA Awards 2018

In 2018 we held our fourth CJA Awards, celebrating the innovative work taking place across the country towards a fairer and more effective criminal justice system. We also gave an award to an outstanding journalist whose work had contributed to a better public understanding of criminal justice. Investigative reporter Raphael Rowe presented the awards at a London ceremony. 

Shortlist and winners

Outstanding Individual 

  • Marie-Claire O’Brien, Founder of the New Leaf Initiative – winner
  • Jason Morris, National Specialist Lead, HMPPS Intervention Services
  • Carlie Thomas, Senior Caseworker, St Giles Trust SOS Project
  • Andy Watson, Artistic Director and CEO of Geese Theatre Company

Outstanding Organisation 

  • The Zahid Mubarek Trust – winner 
  • Revolving Doors Agency – runner-up 
  • Advance 
  • Clean Sheet 
  • Greater Manchester Youth Justice University Partnership 
  • Khulisa 

Outstanding Journalism 

  • David Cohen, London Evening Standard – winner 
  • Ian Birrell, The Times and i paper 
  • Saira Khan, Daily Mirror 
  • Prison, a Channel 4 documentary 
  • The Secret Barrister

Lifetime Achievement Award

This year’s Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Martine Lignon, Chair of the Prisoners’ Advice Service and Trustee of Women in Prison, for her ‘knowledge, wisdom, charm and drive in campaigning for a fairer and more effective criminal justice system.’ 

Read more in the CJA Awards 2018 brochure.


The judges of the CJA Awards 2019 were: 

  • LJ Flanders. Founder of Cell Workout and winner of 2017 Outstanding Individual  
  • Tebussum Rashid. Deputy Chief Executive of the Black Training and Enterprise Group. 
  • Kate Paradine. Chief Executive of Women in Prison  
  • Afua Hirsch. Journalist, broadcaster, author and former barrister.