Skip to main content

CJA Awards 2021

The CJA Awards celebrate the outstanding individuals and organisations helping to make the criminal justice system fairer and more effective, generously supported by the Barrow Cadbury Trust.

We also hold an annual Media Awards, which celebrate the journalists, documentary makers and digital media champions shining a spotlight on criminal justice, challenging misperceptions and improving public understanding. 

This year we have introduced two new categories in the CJA Awards to carry on the legacy of Jack Merritt and Saskia Jones, who were tragically killed in the attack at Fishmongers’ Hall in November 2019. 

The Saskia Jones Legacy Award

Saskia Jones was a committed advocate for victims. Saskia’s research focused on how victims of sexual violence are handled across the criminal justice system in practice and policy. Her decision to join the police force was driven by her passion to make a real change in this field.

The Saskia Jones Legacy Award is for a dedicated and passionate individual who has positively impacted the lives of victims in the last 12 months. 

Saskia Jones

The Jack Merritt Legacy Award

Jack Merritt was a champion for marginalised and discriminated against groups, who wrote his dissertation on the overrepresentation of young Black, Asian and minority ethnic men in the UK prison system and co-ordinated educational opportunities for people in prison.

The Jack Merritt Legacy Award is for a bold and inspiring individual who has improved outcomes and opportunities for Black, Asian and minority ethnic people in the criminal justice system.  

Jack Merritt


These are the categories and prizes for the awards. To see the criteria for each award and to nominate either yourself or someone else, please click on the link. 

CJA Awards 

Media Awards 


The deadline for nominations is midday on 27 September 2021.  

The awards ceremony will be held virtually at the end of November. 


If you have any questions about the CJA Awards, please call Jamie Morrell, Communications and Engagement Officer, on 07902 114 967, or email  

Privacy Notice: All personal information obtained from nominations will be held securely and used solely for the purpose of contacting you about the Awards. Your information will not be shared with outside parties. See our privacy policy for more details.

Our previous awards

Why not check out the winners and shortlists of our previous awards?